FOCUS ON ... the protection order

We are inaugurating a new series of articles, entitled FOCUS.

These are short, non-technical articles, aimed at highlighting and explaining procedures and legal facts, for the benefit of the greatest number of people. We hope that you will enjoy this series and you can find it using the "category" tool in the margin of the page.
Today's focus is on: the protection order

Created by law n°2010-769 of 9 July 20101 , the protection order is issued by the family court judge.
It enables the victim of domestic violence (whether or not they are a married couple) to obtain, as a matter of urgency, a judicial protection order for themselves and their children and measures relating to the exercise of parental authority and the allocation of the couple's housing.
The judge may be seized by the party making the request, possibly assisted by a lawyer, or directly by the public prosecutor with the victim's consent.
The defendant is then summoned to the hearing at which separate hearings may be held.

The family court may order various measures, for a maximum period of six months, renewable, as listed in article 515-11 of the Civil Code:

(1) prohibit the defendant from receiving or meeting with certain persons specially designated by the family court, or from having any contact with them in any way whatsoever

1° bis Prohibit the defendant from going to certain places specially designated by the family court in which the plaintiff is habitually located

(2) prohibit the defendant from possessing or carrying aweapon and, where appropriate, order him to hand over to the police or gendarmerie service designated by him the weapons in his possession with a view to depositing them at the registry; where the protection order prescribes the measure provided for in paragraph (1), the decision not to prohibit the possession or carrying of a weapon shall be specially motivated

2° bisTo propose to the defendant a health, social or psychological care or a training course to make him/her responsible for the prevention and the fight against domestic and gender-based violence. If the defendant refuses, the family court shall immediately notify the public prosecutor of this refusal.

3° Torule on the separate residence of the spouses. At the request of the spouse who is not the perpetrator of the violence, the enjoyment of the conjugal dwelling is granted to him or her, except in special circumstances, upon a specially motivated order, and even if he or she has benefited from emergency accommodation. In this case, the violent spouse may be required to pay the related costs.

4° To decide on the common housing of partners bound by a civil solidarity pact or of cohabitants. At the request of the partner bound by a civil solidarity pact or of the cohabitee who is not the perpetrator of the violence, the use of the common dwelling shall be granted to him, except in special circumstances, upon a specially motivated order, and even if he has benefited from emergency accommodation. In this case, the violent partner or cohabitee may be required to pay the related costs.

5° To decide on the modalities of exercising parental authority and, within the meaning of Article 373-2-9, on the modalities of visiting and accommodation rights, as well as, where applicable, on the contribution to the expenses of the marriage for married couples, on material assistance within the meaning of Article 515-4 for partners in a civil solidarity pact and on the contribution to the maintenance and education of children; Where the protection order enacts the measure provided for in paragraph 1 of this article, the decision not to order the exercise of visiting rights in a designated meeting place or in the presence of a trusted third party shall be specially motivated

Allow the plaintiff to conceal his domicile or residence and to elect domicile with the lawyer who assists or represents him or with the public prosecutor at the First Instance Court for all civil proceedings in which he is also a party. If, for the purposes of the enforcement of a court decision, the bailiff in charge of enforcement must be aware of the address of the person concerned, it shall be communicated to him, without his being able to reveal it to his principal.

6° bis Authorize the plaintiff to conceal his domicile or residence and to elect domicile for the needs of everyday life with a qualified legal person

7° Pronounce the provisional admission to legal aid of the claimant in application of the first paragraph of Article 20 of Law No. 91-647 of 10 July 1991 on legal aid.

The main aim is to organise the protection of the victim, and to organise his or her accompaniment, through referral to specialised associations.

FOCUS SUR … l’ordonnance de protection

Nous inaugurons une nouvelle série d’articles, intitulés FOCUS.

Il s’agit d’articles courts, peu techniques, visant à mettre en avant et à expliquer des procédures, des faits juridiques, à vocation du plus grand nombre. Nous espérons que cette série vous plaira et vous pouvez la retrouver à l’aide de l’outil “catégorie” en marge de la page.
Focus donc, aujourd’hui sur : l’ordonnance de protection

Créée par la loi n°2010-769 du 9 juillet 20101, l’ordonnance de protection est délivrée par le juge aux affaires familiales.
Elle permet à la victime de violences conjugales (qu’il s’agisse ou non d’un couple marié) d’obtenir en urgence une mesure de protection judiciaire pour elle et ses enfants et des mesures relatives à l’exercice de l’autorité parentale et à l’attribution du logement du couple.
Le juge peut être saisi par la partie en demande, assistée éventuellement par un avocat, ou directement par le procureur de la République avec l’accord de la victime.
Le défendeur est alors convoqué à l’audience lors de laquelle des auditions séparées peuvent être organisées.

Le juge aux affaires familiales peut prononcer des  mesures variées, pour une durée maximale de six mois, renouvelable; listés à l’article 515-11 du code civil :

Interdire à la partie défenderesse de recevoir ou de rencontrer certaines personnes spécialement désignées par le juge aux affaires familiales, ainsi que d’entrer en relation avec elles, de quelque façon que ce soit

1° bis Interdire à la partie défenderesse de se rendre dans certains lieux spécialement désignés par le juge aux affaires familiales dans lesquels se trouve de façon habituelle la partie demanderesse

2° Interdire à la partie défenderesse de détenir ou de porter une arme et, le cas échéant, lui ordonner de remettre au service de police ou de gendarmerie qu’il désigne les armes dont elle est détentrice en vue de leur dépôt au greffe; lorsque l’ordonnance de protection édicte la mesure prévue au 1°, la décision de ne pas interdire la détention ou le port d’arme est spécialement motivée

2° bis Proposer à la partie défenderesse une prise en charge sanitaire, sociale ou psychologique ou un stage de responsabilisation pour la prévention et la lutte contre les violences au sein du couple et sexistes. En cas de refus de la partie défenderesse, le juge aux affaires familiales en avise immédiatement le procureur de la République

3° Statuer sur la résidence séparée des époux. A la demande du conjoint qui n’est pas l’auteur des violences, la jouissance du logement conjugal lui est attribuée, sauf circonstances particulières, sur ordonnance spécialement motivée, et même s’il a bénéficié d’un hébergement d’urgence. Dans ce cas, la prise en charge des frais afférents peut être à la charge du conjoint violent

Se prononcer sur le logement commun de partenaires liés par un pacte civil de solidarité ou de concubins. A la demande du partenaire lié par un pacte civil de solidarité ou du concubin qui n’est pas l’auteur des violences, la jouissance du logement commun lui est attribuée, sauf circonstances particulières, sur ordonnance spécialement motivée, et même s’il a bénéficié d’un hébergement d’urgence. Dans ce cas, la prise en charge des frais afférents peut être à la charge du partenaire ou concubin violent

Se prononcer sur les modalités d’exercice de l’autorité parentale et, au sens de l’article 373-2-9, sur les modalités du droit de visite et d’hébergement, ainsi que le cas échéant, sur la contribution aux charges du mariage pour les couples mariés, sur l’aide matérielle au sens de l’article 515-4 pour les partenaires d’un pacte civil de solidarité et sur la contribution à l’entretien et à l’éducation des enfants; Lorsque l’ordonnance de protection édicte la mesure prévue au 1° du présent article, la décision de ne pas ordonner l’exercice du droit de visite dans un espace de rencontre désigné ou en présence d’un tiers de confiance est spécialement motivée

Autoriser la partie demanderesse à dissimuler son domicile ou sa résidence et à élire domicile chez l’avocat qui l’assiste ou la représente ou auprès du procureur de la République près le tribunal de grande instance pour toutes les instances civiles dans lesquelles elle est également partie. Si, pour les besoins de l’exécution d’une décision de justice, l’huissier chargé de cette exécution doit avoir connaissance de l’adresse de cette personne, celle-ci lui est communiquée, sans qu’il puisse la révéler à son mandant

6° bis Autoriser la partie demanderesse à dissimuler son domicile ou sa résidence et à élire domicile pour les besoins de la vie courante chez une personne morale qualifiée

7° Prononcer l’admission provisoire à l’aide juridictionnelle de la partie demanderesse en application du premier alinéa de l’article 20 de la loi n° 91-647 du 10 juillet 1991 relative à l’aide juridique.

Le but principal est d’organiser la protection de la victime, et d’organiser son accompagnement, via l’orientation vers des associations spécialisées.